Anonymous
map-marker Tampa, Florida

Rude , rude, rude. Very poor and slow customer service.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I spoke with a Transamerica employee in early January about wanting to cancel my policy. I was told I was entitled to the Month premium they just took because I was cancelling so early in the month.

I was told I would receive the cancellation form in my email , I could fill it out and send it back over night. They never sent the form. It took Two weeks to get the form. In the meantime, this company wasted no time sending me late notices that arrived in two days from the same address.

I called several times, had to go thru their ridiculous answer service (they ask you every crazy question you can imagine B4 placing your call to the right agent). When I finally got thru to someone "Nicky" she fast talked me, wouldn't let me talk , had no record of my calls except the latest one where I once again complained and was told it was being worked on, and to call back. Nicky is a real peach. She will flat out be as uncooperative as possible, chew you up and spit you out faster than you can say Transamerica.

I'm still waiting...

I suggest you DO NOT give this company one dime of your money. Pay out is highly unlikely.

View full review

User's recommendation: Do not invest your hard earned money. Chances of getting a dime back are slim to zero.

1 comment
Guest

I understand it took two weeks to get the email form, but you characterized the onset as “payment just made, so early in month they were refunding the month premium.” How could you get late notices in that time? It seems like your payment was made about half a month ago.

Anonymous

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Nashville, Tennessee

Haven't heard back from you about my refund

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Transamerica - Haven't heard back from you about my refund
Transamerica - Haven't heard back from you about my refund - Image 2
Transamerica - Haven't heard back from you about my refund - Image 3
Poor what is taking them so long to send me my refund. I don't know what I have to wait so long because I had already cancelled it
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't use it don't have any more time for this company not reliable

Mary A Rds

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Tampa, Florida

Still waiting for my refund.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
How long does it take to close out my policy FEX261122. I chose to discontinue my policy in early January of 2024. After sending you my cancellation form you continue to hold my January premium and also send me two late notices about all the money "I" owe you. Totally unacceptable. I need my refund asap. Mary Atti
View full review

User's recommendation: #1 the phone system that takes your call is a disaster. Wants to know everything except that you want to speak to an agent. It goes on forever . #2. These people must not have a strong financial foundation because they will do everything they can to not return money to clients. Took them two weeks to send me a cancellation form in the US mail. But only two days to send me a late notice. First agent promised me my payment back, said she would send me the cancellation form via email and then sign it. She never sent me the form. Every day that ticks by is another reason to not return your money. Unbelievable. Do yourselves a huge favor and don't invest in this company.

Mary A Rds

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Tampa, Florida

I am still waiting for my refund after I cancelled my policy with you.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
It has been more than a month since I notified Transamerica Insurance that I wanted to cancel my policy. It took you two weeks to send me a cancellation form via the US mail. Which I filled out, sent back and was told was being worked on. (Whatever that means. ). How hard is it to process my request? Funny thing, you have sent me two late notices, telling me how much money " I " owe you, and I just happened to noticed that it only took 2 days to receive those. What a joke. Looks like this is something folks should be aware of. I want my refund. Cc: Better Business Bureau
View full review

User's recommendation: N O T

Cedric H Bwl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Anuradhapura, North Central

This place sucks, customer service sucks, everything about this company sucks.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I've been trying to speak with a Manager or Supervisor for 3 weeks, they won't respond, their colleagues can't connect you, they have no chat line. I will never in life recommend this company to anyone.
View full review
Loss:
$500
Cons:
  • Still suck

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not ever do business here.

LaKisha T Kcb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Blatant Indirect Robbery!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 02, 2023

Not Being Paid Fairly for Current Chronic Illnesses

Original review Oct 02, 2023
My agent reminded me of the Chronic Illness I have on my policy. I completed the paperwork and they only offered me $300.

The face value of my policy is $350,000! If I accept the $300, the face value of my policy decreases from $350,000 to $266,000. This is highway robbery!!! I've been diagnosed with Uveitis, Iritis, Hashimoto's disease, and Fibromyalgia, my S1, and L5 bilateral nerves are damaged and my left knee has a fracture, torn cartilage, and a torn meniscus.

I currently have a nurse, PT, and OT coming to my home every week. I will call the insurance commissioner about this. Do NOT purchase anything from this company! They only want to profit off of you.

They are not in business to help their insureds! What a rip-off!
View full review
Pros:
  • Hopefully the policy pays at my demise
Cons:
  • Chronic illness means about to die to transamerica

Preferred solution: I would like to get 24% of the face value of my policy for the current Chronic Illnesses I'm encountering.

1 comment
Guest

How long have you been paying on the policy and what reason did they give for not giving you the 24% you requested?

CALVIN D Pzu

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

LOST PAYMENTS FOR OVER 2 WEEKS

Transamerica - LOST PAYMENTS FOR OVER 2 WEEKS
660028**** POLICY NUMBERBeen calling for 2 weeks - I made a payment on July 19, 2023, through transamerica payment center and Transamerica is still saying they don't have it. We emailed over copies of the payment taken from the bank and the email from Transamerica stating received. However, we are still waiting for the policy to be reinstated and the payment to be applied. PLEASE HELP THESE PHONE CALLS ARE OUTRAGEOUS THE REPS ONLY TAKE MESSAGES TO PASS ON TO THE BILLING DEPARTMENT EACH TIME IT TAKES ABOUT 30+ MINS.
View full review

Preferred solution: APPLY PAYMENT TO MY ACCOUNT

Nora Nvo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

A back tax bill

Well unbeknown to me supposedly my deceased husband received money from you and never claimed on 21 taxes
View full review
Jeff C Khx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker West Des Moines, Iowa

Trying to get my refund back

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have been dealing with trans America since April to get a refund of almost $1600 for overpayment. They've been screwing me around. I've had 17 phone calls, and they keep coming up with excuses of not wanting to pay me. They tell me that the bank has returned a deposit. Ed, check, my bank says never happened. Now. They're saying that it's going to take 10 days to do it overnight. FedEx, check to me.
View full review
Loss:
$1576
Cons:
  • Horrible customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay away

Anonymous
map-marker Raleigh, North Carolina

Will NOT switch my money!!

I have spent two months trying to remove my monies from this unreliable institution. I will NEVER do any business with Transamerica again. I highly recommend you do not use this financial institution for any reason. They treat their customers with no degree of consideration considering the amount of money was invested with them. Look for another financial institution with integrity and respect towards its clients!
View full review

User's recommendation: Do NOT use ever!

Sarah B Fxe

Make payments

Send me number to make payment I keep getting cut off before number is completed I have tried for 3 hours
View full review

Preferred solution: Make payments

Deangelo Ytw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bluffton, Indiana

They refuse to refund an overpayment

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I paid my yearly life insurance premium on November 1, 2022, of $397. The company sent me another notice shortly later asking for another payment of $397.

After numerous phone calls to the company and my bank, my case was put on investigation to find the initial transaction. I order to avoid losing my life insurance, I made a second payment of $397 on December 5, 2022. Several phone calls and emails later, showing multiple evidence and proof of payment from my bank, I received letters from the company asking for further evidence that I made the initial payment.

Further letters have now been mailed directly from my bank with further proof of payment. The company continues to stall the return of my overpayment of $397.

View full review

User's recommendation: Avoid

Javeah Kti

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker San Diego, California

Need 1099

I have never received a 1099 from Transamerica since I retired. I am 74. I have changed addresses twice and filed with the post office both times. From age 65-70 I lived at 162* ***nd st. My sister seized the house. I moved to San Marcos 5 years ago due to a litigation/inheritance suit with my sister. First, 1320 Richland road, San Marcos. Now 1195 la more rd. I hope you have not been sending my 1099 to her as it only results in headaches and further litigation for me. Can you tell me if you did? I would have to inform my lawyer and tax accountant if that is the case.
View full review

Insurance Expert Talks

Exposed: Types of Insurance Scams and Fails

Mar 7, 2021

The insurance fraud: What is insurance fraud? What are the worst cases? How insurance fraud is discovered? How to protect yourself from an insurance scam? In this video, Charles R. Gallagher, an attorney, exposes the most common insurance fraud examples.

Read full article
Charles
Charles

Charles R. Gallagher, an attorney and managing partner with Gallagher & Associates. His practice focuses on insurance litigation, foreclosure defense and consumer law.

Kenneth K Nrn

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Wakefield, England

Need to talk to a supervisor

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Horrible customer service. Need to talk to a supervisor, keep getting hung up on at 1800.238 ****, talked wit at least 4 people at this number and none have a clue about, what used to be called RDF fund, last person I spoke wit in early December said it is now called K fund and took my information and said a check would be mailed per my request from that account, and I would receive it in 8-10 business days. Have yet to receive the check. Called again on 5 Jan 2023, person didnt have a clue, hung up on me. Impossible to talk with anyone knowledgeable about your company. Please help!
View full review
Loss:
$900
Cons:
  • Bad customer service

Preferred solution: Help with my accounts

User's recommendation: Stay away from TRANSAMERICA Life Insurance, You will never get the service you deserve!

Cheryl H Rhs
map-marker Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Billing issue

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Company sought payment before payment date. Funds were not available and I was charged more money. Am not happy with the lack of service I received.
View full review
Cons:
  • Attempted pmt before regular payment date

Preferred solution: Apology

Jennifer H Jll

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Beneficiary waiting for payout

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
No one knows whats going on with my fathers life insurance. I call, get to talk to someone in a different country that has no clue about anything than what the computer says in front of them. Been lied to. Asked to talk to a supervisor, thats not allowed apparently. Horrible communication and customer service. Been almost 5 months now with zero answers!
View full review
Loss:
$70
Cons:
  • Scam

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Find a different insurance company

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article